"Glendale Academy Established in 2003" IGCSE center no.IN639 CBSE/ Aff./ 130195/ 27-07-2006

Cambridge International Examination (CIE) - Giving our students the global edge.

The Cambridge international curriculum at Glendale sets a global standard for education, and is recognised by universities and employers worldwide. The curriculum is flexible, challenging and inspiring, culturally sensitive yet international in approach. Cambridge students develop an informed curiosity and a lasting passion for learning. They also gain the essential skills they need for success at university and in their future careers.

Universities value the independent research and critical thinking skills, as well as the deep subject knowledge that Cambridge qualifications bring.

They are created by subject experts, rooted in academic rigour and reflect the latest educational research.

Cambridge qualifications at Glendale

1. Cambridge Lower secondary corresponds to grade VI-VIII.

It develops skills and understanding in English, mathematics and science for the first three years of secondary education. It combines a world-class curriculum, high-quality support for teachers and integrated assessment.

Subjects offered: English as a first language, Mathematics, Science, Integrated Social Science, ICT, Second languages- Hindi, Spanish and French.( Global Perspectives to be introduced)

Along with internal assessments, Glendale learners take Cambridge lower secondary Checkpoint exams towards the end of grade VIII in English, Math and Science. The tests are marked in Cambridge and provide schools with an external international benchmark for learner performance. Each learner receives a statement of achievement and a diagnostic feedback report, giving schools detailed information and parents extra trust in the feedback they receive.

2. Cambridge Upper Secondary/IGCSE is equivalent to grades IX-X.

Cambridge Upper Secondary builds on the foundations of Cambridge Lower Secondary, although learners do not need to complete that stage before this one.

For learners, Cambridge IGCSE helps improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving. It is the perfect springboard to advanced study.

It develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

Subjects offered:

English as a First language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Economics OR Environmental management OR Geography, ICT OR Business Studies, French OR Spanish OR Hindi

Cambridge Results @ Glendale

Glendale has successfully sent out its three batches of Cambridge Checkpoint and IGCSE with magnificent results. Majority of students have so far scored six on six points in their Checkpoint exams. To add more to it, our IGCSE students have given us 8 A stars in all the eight subjects.

This is a bank of frequently asked questions and answers related to recognition and acceptance of Cambridge qualifications in India. It is aimed primarily at AS and A Level and IGCSE students who intend applying for admission to Indian educational institutions.

Cambridge IGCSE

Q.How do I convert IGCSE grades to marks for India?

A. If a child took IGCSEs in India in November 2010 or later, your Statement of Result will include Percentage Uniform Marks and the same can be used for admission purposes.

Q. I took IGCSEs and now wish to shift to a school that follows a national curriculum. What supporting documents should be provided to the admitting school?

A. Association of Indian Universities (AIU) is the nodal agency in India that gives equivalence to foreign qualifications. AIU recognizes passes in 5 Cambridge IGCSE/O Level subjects including English Language as equivalent to Standard 10 of an Indian exam board. Please provide a copy of AIU’s equivalence statement to the admitting school.

Q. Do Indian schools following local curriculum consider IGCSE Physics, Chemistry and Biology as a single subject?

A. The 3 separate sciences offered in IGCSE are treated as 3 valid subjects. AIU recognizes passes in 5 Cambridge IGCSE/O Level subjects including English Language as equivalent to Standard 10.

Q.Will IGCSE grades F and G be accepted for admission to Standard 11 of any Indian exam board?

A. Students with grades F and G should refer to their Percentage Uniform Marks achieved in 5 IGCSE subjects including English Language. Where the admitting exam board has pass marks at 33 or 35, PUM below these will not be accepted. You should check with the admitting exam board what their pass marks are.